Embraer EJ-135 / 145.

To replace the HS-748 and Merlin fleet, four Embraer aircraft were acquired in 2001, in two different passenger versions. All aircraft were flown to Belgium by 15 Wing crews. CE-01 landed in Melsbroek on June 4, 2001, with Commanders Hellings and Verhaeren in command.

Characteristics;                                                                           ERJ 135       ERJ 145

Wing span                                                                                           20.04 m

Length                                                                                         26.33m         29.87 m

Height                                                                                                  6.76 m

Engines                                                               2 Allison Rolls Royce AE 3007 A 1/3

Cruising speed                                                                         0.78 Mach (833 Km / u)

Range with 30 passengers                                                      3,071 Km       3,106 Km

Capacity (Passengers)                                                            43 49 

Cargo 4.336 Kg        5.600 Kg

Empty weight           11.664 Kg      12.300 Kg

Number in service 2 2

Registration CE 01 CE 03 CE 02; CE 04

In service 04/06/2001

Decommissioned December 19, 2019.

Airbus A400M

The Belgian Air Force has taken delivery of its first of seven Airbus A400M military transport aircraft on December 22, 2020. The aircraft was handed over at the A400M Final Assembly Line in Seville (Spain) and subsequently performed its ferry flight to the 15th Wing Air Transport in Melsbroek (Belgium), where the aircraft will be based.

This A400M, known as MSN106, will be operated within a binational unit composed of a total of eight aircraft, seven from the Belgian Air Force and one from the Luxembourg Armed Forces. Under the operational control of the European Air Transport Command (EATC), the BNU A400M conducts missions on behalf of Belgium and Luxembourg and for the six EATC member nations as well as for the 30 NATO Allies and the European Union member states under the Movement Coordination Centre Europe.